…it is all about timing, this life…

Developments at work have seen me taking on more responsibility and also doing more and more hours, which, when I am not at uni is great, but when I am at Uni and juggling revision and exams, frankly it is a hassle.

But I still did it, call me foolish, call me a mug, but I still do the hours they throw at me. Hoping that eventually they will see that I am more than capable of handling whatever gets chucked at me and give me the hours that I have been asking for since I started working for the company.

More fool me, right?!

Then these developments happened and along with the hours I took on more responsibility, managing the store several times a week, but still stuck on an eight hour contract.

They hire a new manager, and a new full timer and BOOM! my 39 hours a week go straight back down to 8, and instead of doing the 10-6 or 9-6 shifts I am doing the lunch cover shifts 12-4 or 1-5.

If you ask me that is a step in the backwards direction!

So Saturday I send an email to my area manager asking if, next time she comes across to Glasgow, we could talk about my development within the company, I thought that this sounded good and proper, and would make her more inclined to take me seriously.

Then this morning I handed in my CV at a well known and popular clothing store who were looking for “part time, reliable and flexible staff” and then I went to work to do my lunch cover shift.

The new full timer was doing the 10-6 and when I came in she seemed ok, and went on her hour lunch break.

I continued doing the things that needed doing; processing transfers, putting away stock, end of week figures etc. when it occured to me that she should have been back from her lunch….I looked at my watch….it was 2.55, and she should have been back 25minutes ago….

After dithering and dallying and trying to find her phone number, I ended up having to call my boss to let her know, and then we both tried to contact her….with no success.

So in one fell swoop I am back to being the full timer….

THEN

I get out of work and there is a voicemail on my answerphone from the manager of the clothing store asking for an interview….that was a quick turnaround!!

So interview is on Tuesday at 10am. Lets see how that goes, and hopefully I can get the outcome I desire…

funny thing though, timing.

Leave a comment